Sunrisers Hyderabad

In 2013, Sunrisers Hyderabad made its IPL debut subsequent to the dissolution of the Deccan Chargers, the previous franchise based in Hyderabad, on account of protracted financial challenges. Sun TV Network acquired the SRH franchise for Rs 85.05 crores (approximately $15.9 million) annually for a period of five years.

Sunrisers Hyderabad History

Although the Sunrisers inherited a team in which twenty players, including Chargers captain Kumar Sangakkara, were retained by the new owners, it took them some time to establish a stable nucleus. Four captains were put to the test during the first two seasons: Sangakkara, Cameron White, Daren Sammy, and Shikhar Dhawan. Although their bowling demonstrated its overall strength, they encountered difficulty in identifying their optimal starting eleven.

2015 marked the beginning of the Sunrisers’ identity formation, when David Warner was appointed captain. Despite the team’s sixth-place outcome that season, Warner maintained the captaincy due to his own outstanding performances, in contrast to his predecessors. The quartet consisting of Warner, head coach Tom Moody, mentor VVS Laxman, and bowling instructor Muthiah Muralidaran performed like a well-oiled machine in the years that followed their 2016 championship. Likewise, Rashid Khan became an indispensable member of the faction during this time.

Trevor Bayliss succeeded Moody as head coach in 2020. However, he departed following a disappointing 2021 campaign in which Kane Williamson assumed the captaincy and Warner was dismissed from the squad. The conclusion of Sunrisers’ partnership with Warner and Rashid was signified by the season. In the interim, Laxman departed to assume leadership of the National Cricket Academy of the BCCI. After assuming the role of director of cricket prior to the 2021 season, Moody returned to head coaching in 2022. However, by the end of the year, Brian Lara had succeeded him as head coach.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Players For IPL 2024

Team : Sunrisers Hyderabad

Coach : Daniel Vettori

Venue : Rajiv Gandhi Intl. Cricket Stadium


  • Abdul Samad
  • Aiden Markram
  • Rahul Tripathi
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Mayank Agarwal
  • Heinrich Klaasen
  • Anmolpreet Singh
  • Uprendra Singh Yadav
  • Nitish Kumar Reddy
  • Travis Head

All Rounders

  • Abhishek Sharma
  • Marco Jansen
  • Washington Sundar
  • Sanvir Singh
  • Wanindu Hasaranga


  • Pat Cummins
  • Akash Singh
  • Shahbaz Ahamad
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Fazalhaq Farooqi
  • Jaydev Unadkat
  • T Natarajan
  • Umran Malik
  • Mayank Markande
  • Jhathavedh Subramanyan