Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals , the team that received the lowest offer when IPL franchises were first sold, emerged improbable champions in their inaugural season. Subsequently, they have experienced periods of warmth and cold, making the postseason four times and finishing sixth or lower seven times. A controversy has also surrounded them off the field. In 2010, a legal dispute arose regarding ownership. Three of their players were apprehended in 2013 on suspicion of spot-fixing, and the franchise was subsequently subjected to a two-year suspension subsequent to an investigation into its participation in illicit wagering and match-fixing.

Rajasthan Royals History

The Royals were notorious for their “Moneyball” purchasing philosophy and for selecting and supporting largely unidentified talents. They uncovered the identities of Ravindra Jadeja, Sanju Samson, and Yusuf Pathan over time. Nevertheless, they engaged in some of the most substantial transactions as well. In 2018, they paid Rs 12.5 crores (approximately US$1.7 million) for England all-rounder Ben Stokes and Rs 11.5 crores ($1.6 million) for India left-arm fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat; in 2021, they paid Rs 16.25 crores ($2.2 million) for South Africa all-rounder Chris Morris, but they released him prior to the 2022 auction.

Shane Warne captained the Royals during their inaugural season of triumph, and he retained the position until 2011, when Rahul Dravid assumed leadership for a subsequent two years. After a limited stint as captain, Shane Watson relinquished the position to Steven Smith in 2014. In 2018, following Smith’s suspension for ball interference, Ajinkya Rahane assumed the captaincy. Smith resumed the leadership role in 2019, but the Royals dismissed him after two lackluster seasons and appointed Sanju Samson captain prior to the 2021 campaign. Around that time, former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara was also designated director of cricket.

They retained promising Indian opener Yashasvi Jaiswal for Rs 4 crore ($500,000), Jos Buttler for Rs 10 crore ($1.3 million), and Samson for Rs 14 crore ($1.8 million) prior to the 2022 mega auction. Stokes and Jofra Archer, two of their most prominent players from prior seasons, were released.

Rajasthan Royals Players For IPL 2024

Team : Rajasthan Royals

Coach : Kumar Sangakkara

Venue : Sawai Mansingh Stadium


  • Jos Buttler
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal
  • Dhruv Jurel
  • Riyan Parag
  • Kunal Rathore
  • Donova Ferreira
  • Rovman Powell
  • Shubham Dubey
  • Tom Kohler-Cadmore

All Rounders

  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Tanush Kotian
  • Abid Mushtaq


  • Avesh Khan
  • Kuldeep Sen
  • Navdeep Saini
  • Prasidh Krishna
  • Sandeep Sharma
  • Trent Boult
  • Yuzendra Chahal
  • Adam Zampa
  • Nandre Burger