Royal Challengers Bengaluru

Three times, despite being at the top of the popularity rankings, Royal Challengers Bengaluru (formerly Bangalore) have finished in second place without bringing home any trophies. In 2008, having been acquired for Rs 464 crore (approximately US$111.6 million), they ranked as the second most costly franchise. In 2015, Diageo India assumed ownership of the franchise from Vijay Mallya, chairman of United Breweries Limited.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru History

In 2008, the team was elevated to the status of a Test XI and heavily invested in experienced players with the expectation that they would adapt swiftly to Twenty20 cricket as well. However, RCB managed to rack up only four victories. However, over the subsequent three seasons, they reversed their fortunes by finishing as runners-up twice.

Throughout the years, the franchise has made substantial auction investments in players such as Dinesh Karthik (2020), Yuvraj Singh (2014), and Chris Morris (2020). However, these large-scale acquisitions have rarely been re-signed by the franchise if they failed to deliver on their initial impression. Notwithstanding their inconsistent results, the franchise maintained confidence in Virat Kohli as captain until his resignation following the 2021 season. In his inaugural season as manager, Faf du Plessis guided RCB to a fourth-place finish in 2023.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru Players For IPL 2024

Team : Royal Challengers Bengaluru

Coach : Andy Flower

Venue : M. Chinnaswamy Stadium


  • Faf Du Plessis
  • Rajat Patidar
  • Virat Kohli
  • Anuj Rawat
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Suyash S Prabhudessai
  • Will Jacks
  • Saurav Chuahan

All Rounders

  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Mahipal Lomror
  • Karn Sharma
  • Cameron Green
  • Swapnil Singh
  • Mayank Dagar
  • Manoj Bhandage


  • Akash Deep
  • Alzarri Joseph
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Yash Dayal
  • Tom Curran
  • Reece Topley
  • Himanshu Sharma
  • Vyshak Vijay Kumar
  • Rajan Kumar