Punjab Kings

2008. Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul acquired Punjab Kings (formerly Kings XI Punjab) for Rs 304 crore (approximately US$76 million). Kolkata Knight Riders (Rs 300 crore, $75.09 million) and Rajasthan Royals (Rs 268 crore, $67 million) were the only franchises to accept lower bids. Punjab, which underwent a name change prior to the 2021 IPL, have only reached the championship round once.

Punjab Kings’ History

They began the first season on a positive note, but have since failed to achieve consistent success due to the absence of a stable nucleus. The IPL governing council dismissed Punjab and Rajasthan Royals from the league in October 2010, on the grounds of alleged violations of shareholding and ownership regulations. After the dispute was adjudicated in court, both franchises were re-established. However, the ensuing ambiguity hindered Punjab’s preparations for the 2011 auction, which presented an opportunity to restructure their squad. Four days prior to the auction, their coach, Michael Bevan, was appointed, and they ultimately failed to retain any players.

Following three more average seasons, they achieved success in the 2014 auction by constructing an intriguing squad led by coach Sanjay Bangar. They went on to finish first in the league and narrowly lost in a thriller final against KKR, while also advancing to the semi-finals of the Champions League T20. Since then, however, they have not been able to expand upon those gains.

Despite having a batting-heavy lineup and being among the higher-rated teams at the turn of the 2020s, Punjab continued to occupy the periphery. Mayank Agarwal, who was appointed captain in 2022, was unable to improve the team’s situation; he was succeeded by Shikhar Dhawan in 2023.

Punjab Kings Player For IPL 2024

Team : Punjab Kings

Coach :Trevor Bayliss

Venue : PCA New Stadium, Mullanpur


  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Jitesh Sharma
  • Jonny Bairstow
  • Prabhsimran Singh
  • Liam Livingstone
  • Harpreet Bhatia
  • Rilee Rossouw
  • Shashank Singh

All Rounders

  • Chris Woakes
  • Vishwanath Pratap Singh
  • Ashutosh Sharma
  • Tanay Thyagarajann
  • Atharva Taide
  • Rishi Dhawan
  • Sam Curran
  • Sikandar Raza
  • Shivam Singh


  • Prince Choudhary
  • Harpreet Brar
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Nathan Ellis
  • Rahul Chahar
  • Vidwath Kaverappa
  • Harshal Patel