Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians , one of the most recognizable teams in the tournament, are tied with Chennai Super Kings for the most championships with five. The Reliance conglomerate acquired the franchise in 2008 for an estimated Rs 487 crore (equivalent to $112 million). At that time, the franchise held the record for the most expensive team in the league.

Mumbai Indians History

In 2010, Mumbai established itself with a notable contingent that included Sachin Tendulkar and Sanath Jayasuriya, but ultimately finished in second place. Over the subsequent two years, they acquired Kieron Pollard, Rohit Sharma, and Zaheer Khan to bolster their core. Lasith Malinga, a fast bowler, demonstrated his value by donning the purple headgear during the 2011 tournament and being named the Player-of-the-Series in the Champions League Twenty20, which was won by Mumbai in that same year.

Rohit was appointed captain in 2013, and Jasprit Bumrah made his d├ębut. They won every home game at the Wankhede, tied table-toppers Chennai Super Kings for points, and defeated them to win their first IPL championship, putting an end to Tendulkar’s IPL career like a fairy tale. Pollard retired in 2022 and subsequently assumed the position of batting coach.

Since the late 2010s, when he began to dominate the franchise, Suryakumar Yadav has been a formidable asset. The stable foundation he, Rohit, and Bumrah provide ensures that Mumbai will always begin among the favorites.

Mumbai Indians Players For IPL 2024

Team : Mumbai Indians

Coach : Hardik Pandya

Venue : Wankhede Stadium


  • Rohit Sharma
  • Dewald Brevis
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Ishan Kishan
  • N. Tilak Varma
  • Tim David
  • Vishnu Vinod

All Rounders

  • Hardik Pandya
  • Arjun Tendulkar
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Romario Shepherd
  • Shams Mulani
  • Nehal Wadhera
  • Gerald Coetzee
  • Ansul Kamboj
  • Naman Dhir
  • Shivalik Sharma


  • Jaspirt Bumrah
  • Piyush Chawla
  • Kumar Kartikeya Singh
  • Akash Madhwal
  • Luke Wood
  • Dilshan Madushanka
  • Shreyas Gopal
  • Nuwan Thushara